Fixin’ whut aint broke

As you can see, I’ve been messing around with my site. I figured, ‘what the hey’ and added some cool widgets that the rest of you cool kids have on your sites. Now I have to figure out how to add pages, content and whutnot (yeah, I know) without crashing my site. I can be dangerous with tools, time and a little knowledge!

Anyhow, I’ve been struggling with a story idea that I want to work on for November’s NaNoWriMo challenge. I also want to use the same story idea in a short story format and submit it to PUB518.com for consideration in their upcoming, Guide to Useless Sidekicks, anthology. I have the short story part figured out and am off to a start. One of the conditions is that it must be unpublished and a blog is considered published, sooo…, I won’t be able to share it with you in my blog. Sorry. I will keep you posted on my progress though. So far, I did a dramatic reading of it’s opening salvo and cracked up my wife. Good thing she wasn’t drinking something! I would like to write the long version as a novel, spoofing the super-verse, or, as a graphic novel, doing the same. I have some unique characters and a twisted sense of humor, look out Marvel! You too DC!

About 518 Publishing. Their idea is to tap into the creativity of upstate NY writers in the 518 area code, but they will take submissions from writers wherever they may be. The last one, Influence of the Moon, has a piece from a writer in London, England that is, so if you have a story idea, check them out and submit it. You won’t get rich, but you may get published and that is really neat. I have a short story titled ‘Selene’ and a poetry piece, ‘I Should’ve Quit and Gone to Bed’ in ‘Influence’. Check it out on Amazon, I already got my free copy and Amazon gift card, so I’ve been paid. Buy it if you want for yourself, not for me. I won’t be able to put up those pieces for a year.

Please check out Eugenia’s BrewNSpew cafe https://wordpress.com/read/blogs/69221687/posts/55850. She puts weekly prompts out there for you to expand or expound upon. This week’s prompt is ‘Ghoulish’. I have something in mind to submit. For now, I’ll leave a teaser that’s part of a series of poems that I’m trying to convince my insanely talented daughter to turn into a graphic novel with me. Check her work out at; https://madisonrose225.wixsite.com/violetrose/gallery

Ahh, teaser smeaser, I’ll just let it rip!

I am what I am

Torment drives me relentlessly, beyond all hope, beyond care
a wraith, I drift, by impotent fury consumed
preying on dreams, turning faith to ash,despair
remains, it ravages still, it's thirst un-slaked.

Oh, foul beast, the demon inside runs rampant
in catacombs of my un-redeemed soul. without remorse,
I tread in its wake of wreak and ruin, unrepentant,
led astray, without the will to reverse my awful course.

In battle, I engaged my foe, headlong, Hell driven,
unyielding, iron cold, no thought for mercy or compassion.
My creed; No quarter asked, no quarter given.
Alas, hollow victories were naught but crimes of my own commission

Reflection reveals my conscious choice to ignore
the consequences of my actions. I'll live with them forevermore.

BrewNSpew Cafe https://wordpress.com/read/blogs/69221687/posts/55850

Leave a comment